Road Rash

Road Rash is an Alberta Office of Traffic Safety pilot project comprising weekly 90 second radio spots highlighting actual traffic concerns and examples. The goal of the project is to assist in implementing unique and effective traffic safety promotion in rural and remote areas of Alberta.

The radio spots are first hand recounts of traffic collisions or mishaps that were in some way preventable and that connect to the traffic safety issues identified through the Alberta Traffic Safety Plan. The recounts are relayed by members of the enforcement and emergency services, and other community members, and are relevant in the context of the communities where they are created and broadcast. Road Rash Radio Spots are professionally produced by NewCap Radio Group.

The radio spots are broadcast on participating radio stations one day each week, twice a day, once during the morning show and once during the afternoon show.

This award winning project has, after an 18-month pilot phase at four different New Cap stations, gone provincial in February 2011 and the Road Rash Radio Spots can now be heard throughout Alberta at 18 New Cap stations in 26 communities and beyond. They are: CKVH - High Prairie, Valleyview; CFOK - Westlock, Barrhead; CFXE - Edson; CFXG - Hinton; CFXH - Jasper; CFXP - Grande Cache; CHLW - St. Paul; CKWY - Wainwright; CKSQ - Stettler, Coronation; CKDQ - Drumheller, Strathmore; CKJR - Wetaskawin, Leduc; CIXF - Brooks; CJPR - Blairmore, Pincher Creek; CILB - Lac La Biche; CKBA - Athabasca, Boyle; CJXK - Cold Lake; CHSL - Slave Lake, Wabasca; CJEG - Bonnyville.


Last Updated June 12, 2016